Vital Records

Vital records include birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates. Maine’s law requires a person requesting a copy of records to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.

Individuals who may access vital records include:
  • The person named on the record
  • The person’s spouse
  • The parent(s) of the person named on the record
  • Registrant’s legal custodian, guardian or conservator or respective authorized representative
  • Genealogists who have a Maine CDC issued researcher identification card
To obtain a copy of vital records, please come to the town office, or download and mail a request form, along with payment to
Town of Rangeley
Town Clerk
15 School Street
Rangeley, ME 04970

Please make all check payable to the Town of Rangeley and also include a stamped, self addressed return envelope.

Birth Certificates
Birth certificates may be obtained from the town in which the child was born or from the office of state vital records located in Augusta, Maine. The fee for a certified copy of a birth certificate is $15 for the 1st copy and $6 for any additional copies obtained at the same time.

Marriage Certificates
A marriage license is obtained from the town clerk. Residents of the state can file their intentions and obtain a marriage license in the town in which at least one of them resides. Both parties must be present when they apply, to sign the application and the license.

If both parties reside outside the state of main, they may file in any town in Maine. Once their intentions are filed and the license is issued, they are free to marry anywhere in the state. If married previously, applicants must present a certified copy of their divorce decree or former spouse’s death certificate.

The license shall be issued on the same day that the application is filed. It is valid for 90 days after the date of issue. The cost of the license is $40 per couple. Following the ceremony, the license is permanently filed with the Town Clerk’s Office and the State of Maine. Certified copies can be obtained for a fee of $15 for the 1st copy and $6 for each additional copy.

Death Certificates
Death certificates can be obtained from the town where the person resided at the time of death or place of burial. Confidential information on the death certificate, including the cause of death, is available only to person who have a direct legitimate interest in the matter recorded.

The fee for a certified copy of a death certificate is $15 for the 1st copy and $6 for any additional copies obtained at the same time.